The Offspring

American pop-punk band The Offspring formed in Garden Grove, California in 1984 as Manic Subsidal, adopting their new name two years later with a line-up that consisted of frontman Dexter Holland, guitarist Noodle, drummer James Lilja, and bassist Greg K. The next year Ron Welty replaced Lilia behind the kit and it was that line-up that would cross into the mainstream when their third album Smash (1994) became the biggest-selling independent album of all time shifting over 16 million copies. Singles like Come Out and Play” and “Self-Esteem” fit with a wave of post-grunge American rock bands such as Green Day and Blink-182, who were immersed in metal and skate culture, but bubblegum pop friendly enough to appeal to an MTV audience. Signing to Columbia Records, their fifth album Americana (1998) brought the band international fame with single “Pretty Fly (For a White Guy)” becoming a huge hit and topping the charts in the UK, Australia and Sweden. Early endorsers of the internet, they planned to release Conspiracy of One (2000) through their website, but were prevented by their record label and instead scored another big European hit with lead single “Original Prankster”. Splinter (2002) and Rise and Fall, Rage and Grace (2008) failed to recapture that commercial success, but the latter still landed in the top 10 of the U.S. album chart. Though they maintained their loyal fan base by touring regularly throughout the next decade, their only album of new material was 2012’s Days Go By. Longtime bassist Greg K. departed in 2018 and after nearly a decade from their last album the group issued Let the Bad Times Roll in 2021.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Offspring

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.