Blink-182 were adopted as icons of America's skater punk youth culture and hit the big time in the late 1990s and early 2000s when their fourth album, 'Enema of the State,' (1999) sold over four million copies. Formed in August 1992 in Poway, California, they made their debut with the EP 'Fly Swatter' in 1993 when they were simply known as Blink (later adding '-182' to avoid clashing with an Irish band of the same name). They went on to release their first studio album 'Cheshire Cat' in 1995, but it was the single 'Dammit' taken from the album 'Dude Ranch' in 1997 that became an unofficial soundtrack of the skater punk movement. A major label deal propelled them into the international arena, where their infectious choruses and quirky sense of humour found enthusiastic audiences. Initially formed in 1992 by Mark Hoppus, Tom DeLonge and Scott Raynor, Raynor was released from the band in 1998 and replaced by Travis Barker. The band then went on to have huge commercial success with 'Enema of the State' and 'Take Off Your Pants and Jacket' (2001). Both albums reached the top ten of the Billboard 200, with the latter hitting number one, and produced hit singles 'What's My Age Again?', 'Adam's Song', 'All the Small Things', 'First Date', 'The Rock Show' and 'Stay Together for the Kids'. Their 2003 self-titled album featured a guest appearance from Robert Smith of The Cure and produced one of their biggest hit singles in 'I Miss You'. In 2005 they decided to take an extended break while they pursued individual projects but they reunited for tours in 2009 and 2010 while also returning to the studio. What arrived next was the EP 'Dogs Eating Dogs' in 2012, which would be the last recording DeLonge would contribute to before his departure from the band in 2015. The band's line-up shifted to include Alkaline Trio's Matt Skiba, who replaced DeLonge on guitar and vocals. The first recording with the new addition was 'California' in 2016 and was their second album to hit number one on the Billboard 200. After a supporting tour, the band then took a break to write and record their eighth studio album, 'Nine', released in September 2019. It includes the singles 'Blame It On My Youth', 'Generational Divide' and 'Happy Days'. Meanwhile, DeLonge successfully battled a cancer diagnosis and, upon his recovery, rejoined the band's lineup in late 2022. His return was followed by a lengthy tour, as well as the album One More Time..., which arrived in October 2023.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring blink-182

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.