At the height of grunge's hold on US rock fans, Londoners Bush were quick to dig out their flannel shirts, turn up their distortion pedals and thrash their way to huge Stateside success. Formed in 1992 by Gavin Rossdale (vocals and guitar), Nigel Pulsford (guitar), Robin Goodridge (drums) and Dave Parsons (bass), their version of the Seattle sound produced the top 30 hits “Comedown” and “Glycerine” and took their 1994 debut album Sixteen Stone to number 4 in the US. With Brit-pop starting to explode, Bush went virtually unnoticed in their home country until the pained euphoria of “Swallowed” made it to number 7 in the UK singles chart and earned them a Grammy nomination for Best Hard Rock Performance. Legendary producer, Steve Albini worked on their second album, 1996’s Razorblade Suitcase, and it shot to Number 1 in the US and the band embarked on a sold-out tour of North America. However, despite the release of 1999’s The Science of Things and 2001’s Golden State, the band's popularity dwindled and they split in 2002. They reformed in 2010 without Pulsford and Parsons and released The Sea of Memories in 2011, which contained a more pop oriented sound than their 90s hits. Despite a lack of commercial success, they persevered releasing three more albums over the next decade, marking 2020 with the LP The Kingdom.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.