Rumble Fish

Formed in 2003 as a South Korean rock band, Rumble Fish featured guitarist Kim Sung Gun, bassist Kim Ho II, drummer Park Chun Hwee, and singer Choi Jin-yi, the latter of whom transformed Rumble Fish into a solo project following the lineup's dissolution in 2010. Based in Seoul, South Korea, the group established itself as a must-see live act by playing local shows in the clubs near Hongik University. After winning the Superior Award at Ssamji Sound Festival, the Grand Prize at the Korea Rock Championship, and the Grand Prize at the SBS Net Song Festival, Rumble Fish released its debut record, Swing Attack, in July 2004. Swing Attack was the first of three consecutive summertime releases, with Have A Nice Dream appearing in July 2005 and the digital single "I Go" following in July 2006. Another full-length record, Open The Safe, was released in March 2007. The album's lead single, "Smile Again," earned Rumble Fish a nomination for "Best Mixed Group" at the 2007 Mnet Asian Music Awards, and the band returned in 2008 with Memory For You. Not long after releasing the full-length album One Sweet Day in October 2009, Rumble Fish's lineup splintered, with singer Choi Jin-yi retaining the group's name for her solo work. I Am Me, Jin-yi's first solo EP under the "Rumble Fish" stage name, was released by Castle J Enterprise in 2010. She made appearances on soundtracks like Gold Out! and Jang Ok-jung, Living by Love in 2013, then released a second five-track EP, I Am Rumble Fish, in 2014. Although I Am Rumble Fish stalled at Number 91 on the GAON Music Chart, Rumble Fish scored a genuine hit the following year with "I'm Fine, Thank You." A collaborative single featuring Kim Bum-soo, IVY, Han Hee-jun, Sun Woo, and the girl group Ladies' Code, "I'm Fine, Thank You" reached Number 3 in South Korea. Rumble Fish landed another hit single with 2021's "I Go," which climbed to Number 13.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.