Royal Pirates

The Royal Pirates is a South Korean/American pop rock band that began as the group Fading from Dawn, a covers band who built up a following by uploading material on YouTube. Fading from Dawn was formed in 2004 by singer and guitarist Moon Kim, bass player Richard Kim, and drummer Soo-yoon, who later changed his stage name to EXSY. Sadly, in 2008 tragedy struck the band when Richard Kim lost his life in a car accident in Pomona, California. His two friends decided to carry on with the band under a new name, The Royal Pirates. The duo began to upload covers on YouTube, recording material by artists as diverse as Muse and Britney Spears. In September, 2009, they augmented the line-up with new bass player James Lee. The band released four EPs during two prolific years, beginning with the gold-certified debut Drawing the Line in January 2014. The most successful of those releases was The Royal Pirates' third EP, Love Toxic, which was released in August 2014 and reached number 18 on the South Korean charts. After the release of 3.13 in December 2015, The Royal Pirates' lineup began to splinter, with James Lee's departure in early 2017 effectively ending the band.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.