Magic Dirt

Magic Dirt's noisy, distorted alt-rock made the Australian band a Top 10 act during the mid-'90s. Formed in Geelong, Victoria, in 1991, the group's early lineup consisted of vocalist Adalita Srsen, drummer Adam Robertson, guitarist Daniel Herring, and bassist Dean Turner, all of whom initially banded together under names like "Deer Bubbles" and "The Jim Jims." After adopting the Magic Dirt moniker, the group opened for Pavement and Sonic Youth during the bands' respective Australian tours, then released the debut EP Signs of Satanic Youth in 1993. A second EP, Life Was Better, was issued in November 1994 and debuted at Number 1 on the Australian Alternative Music Chart. One year later, Life Was Better was nominated in four categories at the ARIA Music Awards. Magic Dirt signed a major-label deal with Warner Music and released the band's first full-length album, Friends in Danger, in September 1996. Peaking at Number 25 on ARIA's Australian Album charts, the album was followed by 1998's Young & Full of the Devil, 2000's What Are Rock Stars Doing Today, and 2003's Tough Love, the latter two of which received ARIA nominations. Tough Love charted at Number 15 in Australia, with 2005's diverse, cinematic Snow White climbing to Number 24. After releasing a pair of mini-albums — Roky's Room and Beast — in 2007, Magic Dirt returned with another full-length record, Girl, in 2008. Co-founder Dean Turner died of Dermatofibrosarcoma protuberans in 2009, and the band released a final EP, White Boy, before embarking upon an indefinite hiatus later that year. Magic Dirt reunited in 2018 and continued performing live for several years.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Magic Dirt

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.