Killing Heidi

From the small town to the big stage, Australia's Killing Heidi formed in Violet Town, Victoria in 1996 and amassed three studio albums, a string of singles and EPs, and four ARIA Awards along the way. Starting life as a sibling folk-pop duo steered by lead vocalist Ella and her guitarist brother Jesse Hooper, Killing Heidi soon expanded to include school pals Aaron Hart on drums and Rowen Murphy on bass guitar. The newly formed quartet released demos "Morning" and "Kettle," with the latter drumming up attention on radio station Triple J and paving the way for a management deal with Paul Kosky, who helped to shape the band's debut album. Armed with a new rhythm section – Warren Jenkin taking up bass guitar and Adam Pedretti on drums – Killing Heidi dropped Reflector in March 2000; a post-grunge outing which picked up the 2000 ARIA Music Award for Best Rock Album and spent seven weeks at the top of the ARIA Chart. Their second studio album, Present, came in October 2002 and went to number 12 on the ARIA Albums Chart while rising tensions with Paul Kosky, co-producer of the first two albums, led to his exit from the group. Backed by a new producer, John Travis, the band released their third studio album, Killing Heidi, in August 2004, which debuted at number seven on the Australian ARIA Albums Chart and was certified gold. The group parted ways two years later but reunited in a live context to perform shows for their 20th anniversary in 2016. Killing Heidi performed as part of the Australian-wide Red Hot Summer Tour in early 2020.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.