A multi-award winning alt-rock powerhouse, Powderfinger is one of Australia’s most iconic and best-loved bands. Originally formed in 1989 by three Brisbane school friends – drummer Steven Bishop (ex-The Eternal), bassist John Collins (the Eternal), and guitarist/vocalist Ian Haug (the Vibrants, the Fossils) – the Neil Young-inspired group began life as a cover band. Soon they had welcomed fellow University of Queensland student Bernard Fanning into the fold as lead vocalist. Haug assumed guitar and harmonica duties. Jon Coghill became the band’s new drummer in 1990, and in 1992 guitarist and keyboardist Darren Middleton completed Powderfinger’s now long-running lineup. The five-piece’s self-released Blue EP came out in 1992, with a second EP, Transfusion, following in 1993. Parable for Wooden Ears, Powderfinger's first studio album, was released in 1994. Between the years 1996 and 2009, the band put out seven studio albums that mined a mix of '70s rock, grunge, blues and other guitar-adjacent styles. 1998 album Internationalist went in at Number One on Australia's ARIA Charts, and 2000’s Odyssey Number Five, which also peaked at Number One, earned the band six ARIA awards in 2001. Powderfinger's seventh and final album, Golden Rule, was released in 2009.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.