The Swedish death metal band Hypocrisy was formed by Peter Tägtgren in October 1991. Based in the town of Ludvika, the band embraced a traditional death metal sound on early releases like Penetralia, which featured Tägtgren and Jonas Österberg on guitar, Mikael Hedlund on bass, Lars Szöke on drums, and Masse Broberg on lead vocals. 1993's Osculum Obscenum marked Broberg's final appearance with the band, and Tägtgren took over as the band's new frontman after Broberg's exit. Now a trio, the band charted for the first time with The Fourth Dimension, which reached Number 66 in Germany in 1994. Abducted charted, too, hitting Number 86 two years later. Hypocrisy finished the decade with 1997's The Final Chapter and 1999's self-titled Hypocrisy, then began pursuing a more accessible, melodic version of death metal with 2002's Catch 22. This new direction reinvigorated the band's commercial success not only at home, but also globally, with 2009's A Taste of Extreme Divinity reaching Number 66 in Austria, Number 62 in Germany, Number 184 in France, and Number 23 on the Billboard's Top Heatseekers chart in America. End of Disclosure was released in 2013 and reached the Top 40 for the first time in Germany, where it peaked at Number 35, as well as Sweden (where it reached Number 29), Finland (where it hit Number 30), and the US (where it charted at Number 12 on Top Heatseekers). 2021's Worship hit Number 19 in both Germany and Switzerland, as well as Number 12 in Finland. In 2023, The Fourth Dimension was reissued and reached the German charts once again, debuting at Number 66.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Hypocrisy

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.