Dimmu Borgir

Dimmu Borgir is a Norway black metal band whose music incorporates orchestral and synthesized elements. The band was formed in Jessheim in 1993. That same year, singer Stian Tomt Thoresen (AKA Shagrath), guitarist Sven Atle Kopperud (AKA Silenoz), and drummer Ian Kenneth Åkesson (AKA Tjodalv) released an EP titled Into Eternal Darkness. Despite ongoing lineup changes, Dimmu Borgir remained prolific, releasing albums like Enthrone Darkness Triumphant (1997), Godless Savage Garden (1998), Spiritual Black Dimensions (1999), Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia (2001), and Alive in Torment (2002). Their 2003 release Death Cult Armageddon went to number 10 on Billboard's Independent Albums Chart, In Sort Diaboli (2007) reached number 2 on the Independent Chart and number 8 on Billboard's Top Rock Albums Chart, and Abrahadabra (2010) peaked at number 5 on the Rock Chart, number 6 on the Independent Chart and number 13 on the Hard Rock Albums Chart. In May 2018, Dimmu Borgir announced that Swedish bassist Victor Brandt (formerly with Entombed and Firespawn) had joined the group on their newest record, Eonian, which hit number 4 on the Germany Albums Chart, number 10 on the Independent Chart, number 12 on the Hard Rock Chart, and number 30 on the Rock Chart. The compilation album Inspirato Profanus followed in 2023, featuring songs from a career that canvassed nearly three decades.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Dimmu Borgir

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.