Cannibal Corpse

Death metal band Cannibal Corpse formed in 1988 in Buffalo, New York. The original line-up consisted of drummer Paul Mazurkiewicz and bassist Alex Webster (both the only consistent members throughout the band’s career) as well as singer Chris Barnes, and guitarists Jack Owen and Bob Rusay. Even with several lineup changes throughout the years, the group has maintained a successful career for over three decades with more than a dozen albums and many international tours. Known for their animated concert appearances and vividly gruesome lyrics, they use lurid and grisly imagery that causes some of their work to be banned in various countries around the world. Their first album, Eaten Back to Life, was released in 1990 and was followed by Butchered at Birth (1991), Tomb of the Mutilated (1992), and The Bleeding (1994). Their album Vile (1996) became their first full-length to crack the Billboard 200, while 2002’s Gore Obsessed went to Number 11 on the Independent Albums Chart. That album’s success marked the beginning a run of seven straight albums to reach the Top 20 on that chart. Cannibal Corpse’s album Evisceration Plague (2009) landed at Number 66 on the Billboard 200 and proved to be a harbinger of more mainstream success – Torture (2012) and Skeletal Domain (2014) broke into the Top 40. The group continued with 2017’s Red Before Black followed by Violence Unimagined (2021). Celebrating their 35th anniversary, Cannibal Corpse released Chaos Horrific, their 16th album, in 2023. The lineup on the critically acclaimed album featured the group’s founding rhythm section – Mazurkiewiz and Webster – joined by longtime vocalist George ‘Corpsegrinder’ Fisher and guitarists Erik Rutan and Rob Barrett.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Cannibal Corpse

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.