twenty one pilots

Twenty One Pilots has been variously described as a hip-hop band, a rap act, an electronic duo, and even a reggae group. In reality, any one of these descriptions could be used to cover the wide and varied stylistic tone of a band whose music has been described by fans and critics alike as 'schizo pop.’ Formed in Columbus, Ohio in 2009, the band was the brainchild of lead vocalist Tyler Joseph who, along with bassist Nick Thomas and drummer Chris Salih, created the group. They self- released their first two albums – Twenty One Pilots (2009) and Regional at Best (2011) – before signing with the Fueled by Ramen label (a subsidiary of Warner Bros.). Both Thomas and Salih left the band, making way for the addition of Josh Dun. Twenty One Pilots then released their commercial breakthrough album, Vessel, in 2013. Twenty One Pilots’ fourth album, Blurryface (2015), topped the Billboard 200 Albums chart and sold over 1.5 million copies in the US alone. Singles from the album included “Tear in My Heart”, “Fairly Local,” and “Ride.” The video for the track “Stressed Out” garnered over one billion views on social media. They followed up with Trench in 2018 and continued to be one of the most inventive, creative and successful acts within the US indie scene scoring three number 1 songs on the Alternative Airplay chart: “Chlorine,” “The Hype,” and “Jumpsuit.” In 2021, they returned with Scaled and Icy, which became their third straight top 5 album and featured their eighth Alternative Airplay chart-topper “Shy Away.” Three years later, Twenty One Pilots announced the release of their seventh album, Clancy, which included the singles “Overcompensate,” “Next Semester,” and “Backslide.”

Related Artists

Stations Featuring twenty one pilots

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.