Walk the Moon

Walk the Moon are an American indie rock band whose 2015 hit 'Shut Up and Dance' catapulted them to international fame. They formed in Cincinnati in 2006 with vocalist Nicholas Petricca, Sam Cole on guitar, Adam Reifsnyder on bass and Ricky Human on drums. Other members have included guitarists Nick Lerangis and Chris Robinson. Cole left in 2009 and Human and Reifsnyder departed in 2010. The current line-up features Petricca, guitarist Eli Maiman, bassist Kevin Ray and drummer Sean Waugaman. Once formed, they toured with Kaiser Chiefs and Young the Giant and performed at festivals such as Lollapalooza. Their 2012 album 'Walk the Moon' went to number 15 on Billboard's Top Rock Albums Chart, number 27 on the Adult Contemporary Chart and number 36 on the Billboard 200. EP 'Tightrope' peaked at number 18 on the Top Rock Albums Chart ahead of the album 'Talking Is Hard' (2015) which went to number three on the Top Rock Chart and number 14 on the 200. Tracks on the release include 'Shut Up and Dance', which topped the Rock Songs and Alternative Songs charts, reached number two on the Adult Contemporary and Mainstream Top 40 charts and peaked at number four on the 100 and the UK Singles Chart. Another track from the album, 'Different Colors', reached number seven on the Alternative Songs Chart and they were nominated as New Artist of the Year, Favourite Pop/Rock Duo, Band Or Group and Favourite Alternative Rock Artist in the 2015 Annual American Music Awards. Concert album 'You Are Not Alone: Live at the Greek' (2016) stumbled at number 186 on the Billboard 200 but another studio release, 'What If Nothing' (2017), hit number five on the Rock Albums Chart and number 40 on the 200. Their 2018 schedule included appearances at venues in South Korea, Singapore, Japan and America.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Walk the Moon

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.