The Jayhawks

Formed in 1985, The Jayhawks were an amalgamation of different bands working the Minneapolis club circuit. Their self-titled 1986 debut album showcased their specific blend of rootsy country and fiery rock. The group was discovered by Def American producer George Drakoulias who signed them to the label and released their two best-known albums Hollywood Town Hall (1992) and Tomorrow the Green Grass (1995). 1995 saw the departure of founder member Mark Olson, but the band returned with Sound of Lies (1997) which included the rocker “Big Star”. Smile, produced by Bob Ezrin, followed in 2000 and then Rainy Day Music in 2003, which enhanced their reputation as one of the top bands in America. The mid-noughties saw a period of inactivity, but by 2009 they were playing live shows again and released the best-of Music from the North Country: The Jayhawks Anthology. 2011’s Mockingbird Time was followed by the Ray Davies collaboration Americana in 2017. They teamed again with Davies for Our Country - Americana Act II and released Back Roads and Abandoned Motels in 2018. 2020’s XOXO marked a shift as longtime band leader Gary Louris encouraged more input from bandmates during the writing and recording process, and the resulting album contained a wider variety of musical styles than the band had previously explored.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Jayhawks

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.