Old 97's

The Old 97's helped pioneer the popularity of alt-country during the 1990s, forgoing mainstream success in favor of an enduringly supportive cult audience. Singer-songwriter Rhett Miller, guitarist Murry Hammond, bassist Ken Bethea and drummer Philip Peebles formed the group in 1992 in Dallas, Texas. After debuting with 1994's Hitchhike to Rhome and returning one year later with 1995's Wreck Your Life, the group signed with Elektra Records and made their major-label debut with 1997's Too Far to Care. Album highlights like "Time Bomb" and "Barrier Reef" became signature songs for the band, showcasing Miller's appreciation for melodic hooks. Released in 2001, Satellite Rides found the group showcasing those hooks by leaning into Miller's power-pop influences, creating a musical hybrid that sent the album to number 121 on the Billboard 200. 2004's Drag It Up, the two-disc concert album Alive & Wired, and 2008's critically-acclaimed Blame It On Gravity all followed, as did two volumes of The Grand Theatre. Having established a small but loyal following over multiple decades, The Old 97's reached their peak on the Billboard 200 with Most Messed Up, which hit number 30 upon its release in 2014. The album marked their first release for ATO Records, followed by records like 2014's Graveyard Whistling, 2020's Twelfth, and 2024's American Primitive.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Old 97's

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.