Taking Back Sunday

One of the pioneering bands in emo music, Taking Back Sunday formed in 1999 in Long Island, New York. The group went through several personnel changes before the passionate vocals of Adam Lazzara combined with the dual guitar attack of Eddie Reyes and John Nolan to create Taking Back Sunday's uncompromising hardcore style, which was tempered by the band's catchy pop songwriting. Despite further personnel upheavals which resulted in the introduction of guitarist/vocalist Fred Mascherino, the band toured constantly in support of their 2002 debut, Tell All Your Friends. Two years later, the band reached number 3 on the Billboard 200 with Where You Want to Be, which established Taking Back Sunday's place at the forefront of the commercial emo movement. While far darker and more aggressive, their third album 'Louder Now' was even more successful, although it marked the departure of Fred Mascherino to launch his solo career. Matt Fazzi from Facing New York was Mascherino's replacement as the group reinvented themselves with the brighter and poppier 2009 album 'New Again'. Fazzi and Matt Rubano left the band in 2010 with Nolan and Shaun Cooper re-joining for their self-titled fifth album. They embarked on a tenth anniversary tour in 2012 where they performed their debut album in its entirety. Shortly after, they began work on their sixth album which they released in 2014 under the title 'Happiness Is', followed in 2016 by 'Tidal Wave'. Reyes parted ways with the band in 2018 and the remaining members revealed a greatest hits record to celebrate 20 years together in 2019 titled 'Twenty'. 152, the band's eighth record, followed in 2023, featuring singles like "The One" and "Amphetamine Smiles."

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Taking Back Sunday

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.