Sponge is an American rock band known for their alternative rock / post-grunge style. They were formed in 1992 in Detroit, Michigan by singer Vinnie Dombroski, guitarist Mike Cross, guitarist Joey Mazzola, bassist Tim Cross, and drummer Jimmy Paluzzi. However, the band would undergo many lineup changes through the years, with Vinne Dombroski being the only constant member throughout the band’s history. The group formed after the dissolution of the hard rock band Loudhouse, renaming themselves Sponge after their vocalist quit the band. The group started performing in clubs, and released their debut album Rotting Piñata in 1994. The single “Plowed” was highly successful, entering the Mainstream Rock chart. The album’s third single “Molly (Sixteen Candles Down the Drain)”, named after actress Molly Ringwald, was also a chart hit, and the album ended up peaking at Number 58 on the Billboard 200. Sponge released their second album Wax Ecstatic in 1996, followed by New Pop Sunday in 1999. The group toured extensively, continuing to release music regularly and establishing themselves as elder statesmen of the indie rock scene with albums such as For All the Drugs in the World (2003), Galore Galore (2007), and The Beer Sessions (2016). In 2018, the original Sponge lineup reunited for the first time in 24 years for a live performance at the Detroit Music Awards.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Sponge

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.