Mike + the Mechanics

Formed by Mike Rutherford as a splinter group who worked during breaks in the schedule of his day job with Genesis, Mike and The Mechanics hit the big time in their own right in 1988 with the US number one 'The Living Years', a song Rutherford wrote (with B.A. Robertson) about his father. Rutherford originally launched the band in 1984 with Paul Carrack, Paul Young, Adrian Lee and Peter Van Hooke, with a self-titled debut album and the hit single 'Silent Running (On Dangerous Ground)'. 'The Living Years' was the title track of their second album and, as Genesis went into semi-retirement, Mike and The Mechanics became a more regular working band. Further albums followed with 'Word of Mouth' in 1991, 'Beggar On a Beach of Gold' in 1995, and 'M6' in 1999. As Genesis temporarily reformed, the Mechanics again took a back seat but returned in 2011 with a new line-up featuring R&B star Andrew Roachford and Canadian singer/actor Tim Howar and a brand new album 'The Road'. In 2017 the band announced the news of an upcoming tour.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Mike + the Mechanics

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.