Jason Mraz

Singer-songwriter Jason Mraz was born on June 23, 1977, in Mechanicsville, Virginia. Coming from a family of Czech and Slovakian descent, he moved to New York to study at the American Musical and Dramatic Academy but quit after a year to concentrate on guitar and songwriting. After busking his way around New York, he eventually drifted west and settled in San Diego, where he landed a residency at a local club and formed a semi-comedic duo with drummer Toca Riviera. In 2002, he was signed by Elektra and recorded his debut album Waiting for My Rocket to Come, featuring Agents of Good Roots as his backing band. It produced a hit single, "The Remedy," and was followed by Mr. A-Z in 2005, but it was his 2008 album We Sing, We Dance, We Steal Things, with the smash hit "I'm Yours," which achieved him his international breakthrough. The other two singles from the LP, "Make It Mine" and "Lucky" helped him win two Grammy Awards for Best Male Pop Vocal Performance and Best Pop Collaboration with Vocals. His fourth album, Love Is a Four Letter Word, was released in 2012 and reached Number 2 on the Billboard 200, receiving a Grammy nomination and earning him a slot performing for President Barack Obama's Christmas tree lighting party at the White House. Yes!, his fifth album, came in 2014, followed by Know in 2018. Over the following years, Jason Mraz signed a three-album contract with BMG, beginning with 2020's Look for the Good. Mystical Magical Rhythmical Radical Ride, his second album for the label, came out in 2023.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Jason Mraz

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.