Glass Animals

Formed in Oxford, England, in 2010, Glass Animals is a British indie-rock group whose mix of tropical pop melodies, digital dance rhythms, and souful R&B has earned comparisons to Animal Collective, Bombay Bicycle Club, and Vampire Weekend. Bandmates Dave Bayley, Drew McFarlane, Edmund Irwin-Singer, and Joe Seaward collaborated with producer Paul Epworth for the group's debut EP, Leaflings, which was released in 2012. Two years later, they earned a platinum-certified hit in Canada, America, and Australia with "Gooey," which also appeared on Glass Animals' refreshingly innovative debut album, Zaba. Two years later, the band cracked the Top 40 in both the UK and the US with its second album, 2016's How to Be a Human Being. Two of the album's songs, "Life Itself" and "Youth," became modern-rock hits on American radio, paving the way for the success of the group's third album, Dreamland, in 2020. Charting at Number 7 in the US, Number 2 in the UK, Number 6 in Australia, and Number 8 in both Ireland and New Zealand, Dreamland featured "Heat Waves," the biggest hit of the Glass Animals' career. "Heat Waves" peaked at Number 1 on the ARIA chart in Australia and the Hot Rock & Alternative Songs chart in the US, going platinum in both countries. A second single, "Tangerine," also cracked the Top 40 on the Hot Rock & Alternative Songs chart in 2020, as did the follow-up singles "Space Ghost Coast to Coast" and "I Don't Wanna Talk (I Just Wanna Dance)" in 2021. One year later, the band was named "Best Rock Artist" at the Billboard Music Awards. Such unexpected success inspired the lyrics on the band's follow-up, I Love You So F***ing Much, which was released in mid-2024.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Glass Animals

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.