Duelo, also known as Grupo Duelo and originally Duelo Norteño, is a long-running and very popular Mexican Norteño band from Roma, Texas, United States, and Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico. The band specializes in Northeastern Norteño and Tejano music. The origins of Duelo trace back to when founders Óscar Iván Treviño and Dimas López formed a duo performing in a restaurant in Roma, Texas. Their talent and ambition led to the formation of Grupo Duelo in 1996. The band's initial years culminated in their debut album El Amor No Acaba (1996). Their follow-up album, Desde Hoy (2003), was a huge success, topping sales in Monterrey and earning them a gold record in Mexico. This success brought their first Billboard nomination in 2004 for Regional Mexican Album of the Year for a New Artist. Duelo's third album, Para Sobrevivir (2004), entirely penned by Óscar Iván Treviño, further solidified their status in the music industry. The 2005 album En el Área de Sueños featured hit singles such as "Solo Callas." The band received another Billboard nomination in 2007 for Best Regional Mexican Song for "Te Compro," from the album Relaciones Conflictivas (2006). The LP En las Manos de un Ángel (2007) included the hit single "Olvidame Tu," expanding their reach into California. Over the following years, Duelo continued their musical evolution on albums like Libre por Naturaleza (2013) Veneno (2015), Eres Vida (2020), and Nostalgia (2022), all released via La Bonita Music. In 2023, Duelo released the song "Evítame la Pena," reaching number 25 on the Regional Mexican Airplay chart in the US.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Duelo

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.