Dimmu Borgir

Dimmu Borgir are a metal rock band from Norway whose style incorporates orchestral and synthesised elements. They have released several best-selling albums and performed internationally. They started out in Oslo with singer-musician Stian Tomt Thoresen, who goes by the moniker Shagrath, guitarist Sven Atle Kopperud aka Silenoz and drummer Ian Kenneth Åkesson aka Tjodalv and in 1993 released an EP titled 'Into Eternal Darkness'. The line-up changed several times and today features Shagrath and Silenoz plus singer-guitarist Tom Rune Andersen aka Galder, joined on the road by drummer Dariusz Brzozowski aka Daray and keyboard player Geir Bratland aka Gerlioz. They released albums including 'Enthrone Darkness Triumphant' (1997), 'Godless Savage Garden' (1998), 'Spiritual Black Dimensions' (1999), 'Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia' (2001) and 'Alive in Torment' (2002). Their 2003 release 'Death Cult Armageddon' went to number ten on Billboard's Independent Albums Chart, 'In Sort Diaboli' (2007) reached number two on the Independent Chart and number eight on Billboard's Top Rock Albums Chart and 'Abrahadabra' (2010) peaked at number five on the Rock Chart, number six on the Independent Chart and number 13 on the Hard Rock Albums Chart. In May 2018 they announced that Swedish bassist Victor Brandt (formerly with Entombed and Firespawn) had joined the group ahead of the release of their album 'Eonian', which hit number four on the Germany Albums Chart, number ten on the Independent Chart, number 12 on the Hard Rock Chart and number 30 on the Rock Chart.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Dimmu Borgir

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.