Dead Kennedys

Dead Kennedys are an American punk rock band formed in San Francisco in 1978 by guitarist Raymond Pepperell, who goes by the name East Bay Ray. He was joined by bassist Geoffrey Lyall aka Klaus Flouride and singer Eric Reed Boucher aka Jello Biafra, guitarist Carlos Cadona and drummer Bruce Slesinger. The line-up changed over the years and the group disbanded in 1986 to reform in 2001 with East Bay Ray, Klaus Flouride, drummer D.H. Peligro and singer Ron 'Skip' Greer. Deliberately provocative with their name, lyrics and performances, they earned a reputation for being unruly and members fell out with each other at various times resulting in lawsuits. They aimed for social and political commentary with their albums starting in 1980 with 'Fresh Fruit for Rotting Vegetables'. They followed it with 'In God We Trust, Inc.' (1981), 'Plastic Surgery Disasters' (1982), 'Frankenchrist' (1985) and 'Bedtime for Democracy' (1986). After a 15-year break, East Bay Ray, Klaus Flouride and Peligro reunited, adding singer Brandon Cruz and they performed across North and South America, Europe and Asia. Cruz left in 2003 to be succeeded until 2008 by singer Jeff Penalty. More arguments between present and former members plagued the group and there was a dispute over rights to the name of the band. The remaining performers went on national and international tours in 2013 and 2014 and for 2018 they made appearances in Sacramento and Berkeley, California.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Dead Kennedys

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.