Calibre 50

Hailing from Mazatlán in Mexico's Sinaloa state, Calibre 50 was formed in 2010 by accordionist and singer Edén Muñoz following his departure from Colmillo Norteño. Backed by Augusto Ramos (guitar), Martin López Camacho (tuba), and Augusto Guido (drums), he recorded a debut album, Renovar o Morir, under the name Puro Colmillo Norteño, before having to rename his ensemble Calibre 50. Playing a style of music derived from the regional folklore of Mazatlán, sierreño-banda, the group's eclecticism led it to experiment with a wide range of genres, including ranchera, corrido, cumbia, charanga, bolero, and huapango. He scored his first nationwide hit with the explicit title "El Tierno Se Fue", taken from the album De Sinaloa para el Mundo (2011), followed by El Buen Ejemplo (2012), La Recompensa and Corridos de Alto Calibre (2013), Contigo (2014), Historias de la Calle (2015), Desde el Rancho (2016), Guerra de Poder (2017), Mitad y Mitad (2018), Simplemente Gracias (2019) and Vamos Bien (2020). In 2020, no fewer than seventeen songs reached number one on the Billboard Regional Mexican Airplay chart, setting a record that was beaten by five new titles three years later. As the musicians changed, Edén Muñoz, who had become the sole founding member, left Calibre 50 in 2022 to embark on a solo career. With a new singer, Tony Elizondo, the band continued to operate with four musicians: José Mario Gastélum (diatonic accordion), Oscar Arredondo (twelve-string guitar), Alejandro Gaxiola (sousaphone), and Erick Garcia (drums). Released in 2023, the album Tiempo al Tiempo was followed the same year by Cumbias en Vivo y AlgoMás, after which J. M. Gastélum and Arredondo left the group in 2024. With a new singer, Béto Gastélum (ex-Colmilo Norteño with Edén Muñoz), Calibre 50 recorded the album Las Culebras (2024), featuring the chart-topping singles "Días Buenos, Días Malos" (number 1) and "Nada Que Ver " (number 39).

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Calibre 50

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.