An iconic American punk band known for their activism and progressive politics, Anti-Flag formed in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in 1988. Vocalist/guitarist Justin Sane and drummer Pat Thetic were still teenagers at the time. After adding bassist Andy Flag to the lineup in 1992, the group began working on original material in earnest, eventually debuting in 1996 with Die for the Government. By 1999, replacement bassist Chris No. 2 and guitarist Chris Head had both joined the lineup, turning Anti-Flag into a quartet. The group released A New Kind of Army that year and then signed with Fat Wreck Records win time for 2001's Underground Network. The record reached Number 23 on the Independent Albums chart, with 2003's The Terror State marking Anti-Flag's first appearance on the Billboard 200, where it reached Number 91. A deal with RCA Records briefly turned Anti-Flag into a major-label act, and they released 2006's For Blood and Empire and 2008's The Bright Lights of America before reclaiming their indie status with 2009's The People or the Gun. The band donated all profits from the album's sales to Amnesty International and continued releasing politically-charged punk music throughout the 2010s and early 2020s, which releases including 2015's American Spring, 2020's 20/20 Vision, and 2023's Lies They Tell Our Children.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Anti-Flag

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.