Formed in Ocala, Florida, in November 1997, Underoath performed a Christian-influenced mix of post-hardcore and metalcore music for two decades before pursuing a more secular sound during the late-2010s. With Dallas Taylor serving as the band's frontman, Underoath made its debut with 1999's Act of Depression, followed by Cries of the Past in 2000 and The Changing of Times in 2002. Singer Spencer Chamberlain joined the group after Taylor's exit in 2003, with drummer Aaron Gillespie stepping up to serve as the band's clean vocalist. This revised lineup debuted with 2004's They're Only Chasing Safety, which doubled as Underoath's first release to go gold, and returned two years later for 2006's Define the Great Line. Peaking at Number 2 in America, Define the Great Line became the highest-charting album on the Billboard 200 for a Christian artist in nearly a decade. Underoath continued to enjoy Top 10 success with Lost in the Sound of Separation, which climbed to Number 8 on the Billboard 200 in 2008, then embarked upon a length hiatus after the release of Ø in 2010. Erase Me arrived in 2018, returning the band to the Billboard charts — where they topped the US Top Hard Rock Albums — and marking a turn away from the Christian themes that had permeated previous releases. Even so, the band remained popular in Christian circles, with 2022's Voyeurist climbing to Number 4 on the US Christian Albums chart.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Underoath

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.