The Smashing Pumpkins

Formed in Chicago in 1988 by guitarist and lead singer Billy Corgan, guitarist James Iha, drummer Jimmy Chamberlin, and bassist D’arcy Wretzky, The Smashing Pumpkins were an alternative rock band who achieved international acclaim having successfully emerged from the punk-rock scene of the era. Their second album Siamese Dream, released in 1993, signaled their arrival at the forefront of the American contemporary music scene and coupled with an extensive tour. Their next album, the ambitious double LP Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness debuted at number 1 on the Billboard 200. The band markedly changed their style with Eye which relied almost exclusively on electronic instruments. While their 1998 album Adore finalized the band's shift into the electronic genre. Wretzky exited in the band in 1999. In 2000, with Melissa Auf der Maur now on bass, they released Machina/The Machines of God, a return to their traditional rock sound. Despite their ability to achieve substantial success in the alternative and mainstream charts, internal fighting, drug abuse and diminishing sales provoked their break-up in 2000. In 2006, Corgan announced his intentions to reform the band. Although several members declined the opportunity to be part of the reunion, he and new drummer Mike Byrne set the wheels in motion to revive The Smashing Pumpkins with new material on 2007’s Zeitgeist. In 2009 they released the 44-track concept album Teargarden by Kaleidyscope as a free download. After more line-up shuffles, Oceania was released in 2012, debuting at number 4 on the Billboard 200 and number 1 on the Billboard Independent Chart. Monuments to an Elegy was released in 2014 and the band went on tour with Marilyn Manson, co-headlining dates around North America. Iha and Chamberlin rejoined the band and this line-up released the single “Solara” in June 2018 before celebrating their 30th anniversary with a concert in New Jersey. Their tenth studio album, Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1/LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun, was released in November 2018 and CYR followed in 2020.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.