Matthew West

Born on April 25, 1977 in Illinois, US, Matthew Joseph West has spent thirty years cultivating a career as a celebrated contemporary Christian musician. Steered by Jesus, he first found his calling in the late '90s and began releasing music independently, with his first album, September Sun, arriving in 1997, followed by Every Step of the Way (1998), and Sellout (2002). Later in 2002, he raised the stakes of his career with a signing to Universal South Records, and released his first non-independent studio album, Happy, in December 2003. Co-written with LP producers Kenny Greenberg and Jason Houser, "More" bagged him a Number 1 Christian Adult Contemporary hit as well as a radio staple. His fate was sealed; he was nominated for five Dove Awards in 2005, including New Artist of the Year and Song of the Year. A follow-up album, History, came in 2005 and, following a bout of vocal fatigue caused by hemorrhaging after some polyps, he dropped his third album, Something to Say, whose first single, "You Are Everything", was the most-played song on Christian AC radio in 2008. Reaping numerous awards along the way, Matthew West went on to release another five full-length albums over the next decade, including 2015's Live Forever and 2020's Brand New. A pair of singles surfaced in 2021, including festive cut "We Need Christmas". In 2022, he unleashed new single, "Me On Your Mind" via Story House Collective.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.