Luscious Jackson

Luscious Jackson formed in 1991 and became a mainstay of 1990s alt-rock, merging hip-hop with rock and touches of jazzy experimentalism. The New York City group met on the city’s post-punk scene in the 1980s and was originally comprised of Jill Cunniff (vocals, bass), Gabby Glaser (vocals, guitar), and Vivian Trimble (keyboards, vocals), with drummer and former Beastie Boys member Kate Schellenbach having joined during the recording of their debut EP In Search of Manny in 1992. The EP was released on the Beastie Boys’ Grand Royal label and was followed two years later by the band’s full-length debut Natural Ingredients. The album spawned three low-key hits; "CitySong (NY State Of The World)," "Deep Shag" and "Here", which enjoyed a moment of fame in the film Clueless. Trimble left the group in 1998. In 2000, following the trio’s release of third album Electric Honey in 1999, Luscious Jackson disbanded. In 2006, Capitol Records released the band’s Greatest Hits and they reconvened in 2011 – without Trimble – to write and record new music together. Lead single "So Rock On" from the band’s fourth album Magic Hour was released in September 2013, with the album dropping two months later. A children’s album, Baby DJ, also came out in 2013.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Luscious Jackson

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.