DZ Deathrays

DZ Deathrays are an Australian punk dance outfit from Brisbane, Queensland. The band was formed in 2008 by vocalist and guitarist Shane Parsons and drummer Simon Ridley who had played together in the group Velociraptor. Recorded live at a house party, their independently-released debut EP Ruined My Life came out in 2009, followed by the EP Brutal Tapes in 2011. Bloodstreams, their first full-length, was released in 2012 to great critical acclaim, receiving rave reviews from the specialized press. With producer Burke Reid (of Gerling fame) behind the console, DZ Deathrays recorded and released their sophomore effort Black Rat in 2014, reaching Number 23 on the Australian charts and winning Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Album at the ARIA Music Awards. Preceded by the singles “Shred for Summer,” “Bad Influence,” and “Total Meltdown,” a third album titled Bloody Lovely saw the light in 2017 and peaked at Number 4 on the ARIA charts. It was also their first full-length with guitarist Lachlan Ewbank as a full-time member. Following a tour throughout Australia, DZ Deathrays delivered their third LP Positive Rising: Part 1 in August 2019. The album’s sequel, Positive Rising: Part 2, arrived in 2021 and hit Number 4 in Australia.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.