Crowded House

Australian rock band Crowded House, was formed in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia in 1985, by New Zealand musician Neil Finn (vocalist, guitarist, primary songwriter), and Australians Paul Hester (drums) and Nick Seymour (bass). Initially active from 1985 to 1996, Crowded House enjoyed steady commercial and critical acclaim in Australia and New Zealand. Their breakthrough in the United States came with their self-titled debut album, featuring top 10 hits like "Don't Dream It's Over" and "Something So Strong." Further international success followed in the UK, Europe, and South Africa in the early 1990s with albums like Woodface and Together Alone, and the compilation album Recurring Dream, which included hits such as "Fall at Your Feet," "Weather with You," and "Distant Sun." Neil and Tim Finn were honoured with OBEs in June 1993 for their contributions to New Zealand music. Crowded House disbanded in 1996 after a series of farewell concerts, including the memorable Farewell to the World shows in Melbourne and Sydney. Tragically, Hester died by suicide in 2005. The band later regrouped with drummer Matt Sherrod and released two more albums, Time on Earth and Intriguer, both topping the Australian charts. They were inducted into the ARIA Hall of Fame in November 2016 and reunited in 2020 with a new line-up featuring Neil Finn, Nick Seymour, Mitchell Froom, and Finn's sons Liam and Elroy. Their album Dreamers Are Waiting dropped in 2021, reaching number 2 on the ARIA charts and garnering global recognition across Europe, New Zealand, and the UK. Their 2024 release, Gravity Stairs, hit shelves in May of that year.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Crowded House

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.