Crowded House

After Neil Finn disbanded the group Split Enz, following the departure of brother Tim to pursue a solo career, he founded three man group The Mullanes in Melbourne, Australia in 1985, adding drummer Craig Hooper when touring in their early days. The group were quickly signed to Capitol Records, who requested a name change and, inspired by their living conditions in LA, Crowded House was chosen. Their self-titled debut album was released in 1986 breaking into the US top 40 and featuring the hit single “Don't Dream It's Over”. A second album, 1988's Temple of Low Men, pleased critics yet sales proved disappointing. In 1989, Tim Finn started working with Neil again and by 1991 had become a permanent member and songwriter for the group. The result was 1991's Woodface, and while US success stalled, Crowded House took off in the UK and Europe, buoyed by the hit single “Weather With You”. In that same year Tim Finn left just as the band was completing a major tour and in 1993 Mark Hart joined the group to record their fourth album, Together Alone, which again proved popular in Europe. Finn disbanded the group in 1996, but its enduring popularity saw it come together again a decade later for the 2007 album Time on Earth, an album that went top 5 in Australia, New Zealand, and the UK. They went on another long hiatus after 2010’s Intriguer, only to reform with a line up of Neil Finn, Mitchell Froom, Nick Seymour, and Neil Finn’s sons Liam and Elroy. This line-up released the 2021 album Dreamers Are Waiting.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Crowded House

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.