Chevelle are an American nu-metal rock band formed near Chicago, Illinois in 1995 by brothers, singer and guitarist Pete Loeffler and drummer Sam Loeffler, along with bassist Matt Scott. Loeffler brother Joe soon replaced Scott. They started out playing at local venues, eventually developing a sound that drew comparisons to Tool, before their debut album, 1999’s Point #1. Their follow-up 2002’s Wonder What’s Next, proved to be their chart breakthrough, hitting Number 14 on the Billboard 200 thanks in large part to the single “Send the Pain Below”, which topped Billboard's Mainstream Rock Chart in 2003. They had found their formula of dark, sometimes melodic metal, and their 2004 album This Type of Thinking (Could Do Us In) reached Number 8 on and the album’s single “Vitamin R (Leading Us Along)” was their second Mainstream Rock Number 1. Joe Loeffler left the band, eventually being replaced by Dean Bernardini, the Loeffler’s brother-in-law. 2007’s Vena Sera was their third straight top 20 album, and two years later Sci-Fi Crimes climbed to Number 6 on the main album chart while topping the Alternative Rock album chart. The trio released three albums in the next decade, most notably La Gárgola, their best charting album to that point. It hit Number 3 on the Billboard 200 and topped three different Rock specific charts. After 2016’s The North Corridor, Dean Bernardini decamped, and the band would not put out a new album until 2021’s Niratias.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Chevelle

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.