Amon Amarth

Amon Amarth are a Swedish melodic death metal band whose songs mostly take inspiration from Viking history and mythology. They grew from a band named Scum with singer Paul 'Themgoroth' Mäkitalo, guitarists Olavi Mikkonen and Vesa Meriläinen and bassist Petri Tarvainen. The current line-up features Mikkonen, bassist Ted Lundström, guitarist Johan Söderberg, drummer Jocke Wallgren and vocalist Johann Hegg. Their debut album 'Once Sent from the Golden Hall' came out in 1998 and the band have since released several albums and toured internationally. 'Twilight of the Thunder God' (2008) went to number six on Billboard's Hard Rock Albums Chart and number 18 on the Top Rock Albums Chart. 'Surtur Rising' (2011) topped the Hard Rock Chart and reached number seven on the Top Rock Chart, 'Deceiver of the Gods' (2013) peaked at number four on the Hard Rock Chart, number five on the Top Rock Chart and 19 on the Billboard 200, and 'Jomsviking' (2016) went to number two on the Hard Rock Chart, number four on the Top Rock Chart and number 19 on the Billboard 200. A concert album titled 'The Pursuit of Vikings: 25 Years in the Eye of the Storm', was released in 2018. 2019 saw the release of Amon Amarth's eleventh studio album, 'Berserker'. The album took the band in a different direction as they began to explore other elements of their signature Viking-inspired style and includes tracks 'Raven's Flight' and 'Crack the Sky'. Their 2019 schedule was to include a supporting slot on Slayer's last world tour alongside Lamb of God and Cannibal Corpse before embarking on their own tour of North America with Arch Enemy, At the Gates and Grand Magus.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Amon Amarth

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.