5 Seconds of Summer

Founded in Sydney, Australia in 2011, 5 Seconds of Summer are an Australian pop-rock band formed by Luke Hemmings (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Michael Clifford (lead guitar) and Calum Hood (bass) who attended high school together during the band's embryonic beginnings. In 2011, Ashton Irwin joined the trio, and after several local gigs, 5 Seconds of Summer had attracted a growing fanbase with the release of their debut EP Unplugged. In 2013, the band was invited to support popular English band One Direction on their world tour, giving the them unprecedented exposure; signing with Capitol Records and releasing their first major label single “She Looks So Perfect” in March 2014, followed closely by “Don’t Stop” (2014) which peaked at number 1 in four countries, including Australia. Their debut self-titled album was released in June 2014 to critical acclaim, followed by Sounds Good Feels Good (2015) which once again reached number 1 on the ARIA charts, and was a resounding success across the U.S, Canada and Europe. After a two-year hiatus following a worldwide stadium tour, the band moved away from their pop-punk roots, with 13 x platinum-certified album Youngblood (2018), peaking at number 1 on the U.S Top 40 radio charts as well as maintaining the number 1 position for eight consecutive weeks in Australia, earning the band three ARIA awards, including Song of the Year, and a coveted position in APRA AMCOS’ The 1,000,000,000 List due to its outstanding international success. With their style ever-evolving, the darker synth-heavy Calm (2020) became their fourth number 1 album debut in Australia and charted in 25 countries. In 2022, the band embarked on their postponed world tour with their fifth studio album 5SOS5, released in September 2022.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring 5 Seconds of Summer

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.