Thomas Rhett

Country music singer/songwriter Thomas Rhett – born Thomas Rhett Akins, Jr. on March 30, 1990, in Valdosta, Georgia – is the son of Rhett Akins, who topped the U.S. country charts in 1996 with the single “Don't Get Me Started”. Thomas Rhett was extremely young when his mother started playing him Led Zeppelin songs, and he always seemed destined for a musical career of some sort. He thrashed around in emo punk bands in his youth before being spotted playing country rock covers and given a developmental publishing deal at the age of 20. Dropping out of college and moving to Nashville, Tennessee, he penned tracks for Joe Aldean, Lee Brice and Florida Georgia Line and soon had several labels offering him recording contracts. Signing to Valory Music, his love of vintage crooners Merle Haggard and Hank Williams and rock legends The Rolling Stones and Lynyrd Skynyrd evolved into a modern, polished, country pop sound on early singles “Something to Do with My Hands” and “Beer with Jesus”. Full of Southern swagger and boyish, pop star looks, Rhett's 2013 debut album It Goes Like This became a big crossover hit, reaching Number 6 on the Billboard Charts and making him one of the breakthrough stars of the year. The album's fourth single “Get Me Some of That” gave Rhett his second Number 1 with “Make Me Wanna” also achieving a top position on the Country Airplay Chart. He released the single “Crash and Burn” in 2015, which was taken from his second album Tangled Up. Once again, the album reached Number 1 on the Country Airplay Chart, along with the singles “Die a Happy Man” and “T-Shirt”. His third album, Life Changes, was released in 2017, preceded by the lead single “Unforgettable”. The album also included “Craving You”, his collaboration with Maren Morris. Thomas Rhett’s fourth album, Center Point Road (2019), featured the hit singles “Look What God Gave Her”, “Remember You Young”, and “Beer Can’t Fix”. The album also featured the title track, a duet with Kelsea Ballerini. His fifth album, Country Again (Side A), was released in April 2021. One year later, Thomas Rhett released his sixth album, Where We Started (2022), which featured guest appearances from Katy Perry, Tyler Hubbard, Riley Green, and Russell Dickerson. The album featured the first single, “Slow Down Summer”. Where We Started debuted on the Billboard 200 at Number 12.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Thomas Rhett

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.