Thom Yorke

The son of a nuclear physicist, Thom Yorke formed Radiohead while at boarding school in Oxford and led the band as they became one of the biggest and most cutting-edge acts of the 1990s and 2000s. His ethereal vocals and eerie, obscure lyrics led to classic albums 'The Bends' (1995), 'OK Computer' (1997) and 'Kid A' (2000), while outside of the group he contributed to tracks by UNKLE, Drugstore, Bjork and MF Doom. His debut solo album 'The Eraser' (2006) continued to follow Radiohead's growing use of experimental beats and electronica, but caught Yorke at his angriest on lead track 'Harrowdown Hill', written about the suicide of the government chemical weapons advisor David Kelly. Produced by Nigel Godrich, the album was nominated for the Mercury Music Prize and a Grammy, reaching number two in the US charts as critics acclaimed its melancholic digital ballads and doomed, desperate angst. Live performances of the record with Godrich and Flea from Red Hot Chili Peppers led to them forming Atoms for Peace and their debut record 'AMOK' (2013). He released his second solo album in 2014 titled 'Tomorrow's Modern Boxes' and set out on tour with performances at festivals in the UK and Europe with an American leg in 2018. In 2019 he released his third solo studio album, 'Anima', which was accompanied by a short film of the same name, directed by Paul Thomas Anderson, in which Yorke starred.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Thom Yorke

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.