Theory of a Deadman

Often bracketed with fellow Canadians Nickelback on account of being the first signing to Nickelback singer Chad Kroeger's 604 Records label in 2001, Theory of a Deadman are a well-regarded rock band from Delta, British Columbia who also draw on acoustic and country traditions. They were a struggling band playing in Vancouver clubs when frontman Tyler Connolly made an attempt to promote their demo to Kroeger. He signed them to his new label, collaborating with them in the studio as they began their career in earnest with the release of their self-titled debut album in 2002. At the time the line-up featured Connolly on lead vocals and guitar, Dave Brenner on guitar, Dean Back on bass and Tim Hart on drums. Constant touring and more confident songwriting resulted in a stronger sense of identity on their second album 'Gasoline' in 2005. They toured with Shinedown and No Address and achieved wider awareness performing 'Deadly Game', the theme song to the World Wrestling Entertainment show, while another track 'No Chance in Hell' finished up on WWE anthology albums. Their music was also featured on the video game 'Fahrenheit'. Their greatest success however came in 2008 with the release of the 'Scars & Souvenirs' album, produced by Howard Benson, which launched a series of hit singles, notably 'Bad Girlfriend', 'All Or Nothing' and 'Hate My Life'. Another of their tracks 'Got It Made' went on to a life of its own in a 'NASCAR 09' video game and at the TV coverage of Miami Heat basketball matches. They had another major hit in 2011 with 'Lowlife' from their fourth album 'The Truth Is...' while headlining the 'Carnival of Madness' tour. They went on to release a cover of Leonard Cohen's 'Hallelujah' and were back again in 2017 with a pop sound on the album 'Wake Up Call', resulting in another hit single with 'Rx (Medicate)'. 'Wake Up Call' was followed by their seventh album 'Say Nothing' in 2020. Its lead single, 'History of Violence', peaked at number 32 on both the Billboard Hot Rock Songs and the Rock Airplay Charts. The album also includes the single 'Strangers' and the titular track 'Say Nothing'.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Theory of a Deadman

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.