The Soup Dragons

Hailing from Bellshill, Scotland, the Soup Dragons evolved their alternative-rock sound throughout the mid-1980s and early-'90s, experimenting with everything from punk-pop to Manchester-influenced dance music during their decade-long run. The group was formed in 1985 by frontman Sean Dickson, guitarist Ian Whitehall (who was later replaced by Jim McCulloch), bassist Sushil K. Dade, and drummer Ross A. Sinclair. Signed by the British indie label Subway Organization in 1986, the Soup Dragons climbed to Number 2 on the UK Independent Chart with their second single, "Whole Wide World." The band partnered with Sire Records for their 1988 debut, This Is Our Art, which peaked at Number 60 on the UK charts and sent its lead single, "Can't Take No More," to the top of the UK Independent Chart. Paul Quinn replaced Sinclair after This Is Our Art's release, and the reshuffled lineup returned in 1990 with Lovegod. A Top 10 hit in the UK, Loved also charted at Number 88 in America and Number 27 in New Zealand. The album's success was driven in part by the band's reggae-inspired cover of the Rolling Stones song "I'm Free," which peaked at Number 5 on the UK Singles Chart and Number 2 on the US Modern Rock Tracks. 1992's Hotwired found the Soup Dragons not only experimenting with alternative dance music, but also earning a Top 40 hit on the Billboard Hot 100 with "Divine Thing." The group then broke up following the release of 1994's Hydroponic, with all four members pursuing different musical projects following the split.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Soup Dragons

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.