The Slow Readers Club

Manchester-based indie-rock band The Slow Readers Club began life as Omerta in 2003 and released a handful of singles before disbanding in 2007. Omerta band members James Ryan and Aaron Starkie continued to play together and later inaugurated The Slow Readers Club with a self-titled debut album in 2011, which contained various Omerta songs as well as three new singles: "Feet On Fire," "Sirens," and "Block Out The Sun." A personnel reshuffle helped to establish the current lineup of Aaron Starkie on vocals, Kurtis Starkie on guitar and backing vocals, James Ryan on bass and David Whitworth on drums,w and the newly formed band set about working on their second album, Cavalcade, which was self-released in 2015. They saw their career take off with their third album Build A Tower, which was released on Modern Sky and charted at number 18 in the UK. The band fared even better with their follow-up The Joy of the Return, which cracked the UK top 10, peaking at number 9 in March 2020. Later that year, they dropped the Covid-themed fifth album 91 Days In Isolation, which was written during the UK lockdown and went to number 33. In 2023, the group reached number 29 in the UK with their sixth album Knowledge Freedom Power.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Slow Readers Club

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.