The Kooks

Formed by college friends Luke Pritchard and Paul Garred, The Kooks sent out demo tapes in the hope of getting some gigs but instead received an offer of a record deal from Virgin Records. Signed just three months after forming without playing a gig, the band honed their skills by supporting The Thrills on tour before heading into the studio with Beck and Supergrass producer Tony Hoffer to record their debut album 'Inside In/Inside Out' in 200). Full of lovelorn guitar pop, the record became a huge success, selling two million copies and reaching number two in the UK, with the singles 'Naïve' and 'She Moves in Her Own Way' becoming big summer hits. Public spats with Razorlight, Alex Turner and Lily Allen further boosted their profile before second album 'Konk' (2008) shot to number one in the UK led by the single 'Always Where I Need to Be'. In 2008 bass player Max Rafferty left the band to be replaced by Peter Denton and drummer Paul Garred was forced into hiatus by a nerve problem in one of his arms. Their third album, 'Junk of the Heart', was released in 2011, charting at number ten in the UK Albums Chart. They followed this in 2014 with 'Listen', their first album with new drummer Alexis Nuñez, and they embarked on a greatest hits UK tour in 2017 with the accompanying album release 'The Best of... So Far'. In 2018 they released their fifth studio album, 'Let's Go Sunshine', which featured the singles 'No Pressure' and 'All the Time'.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Kooks

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.