The Hold Steady

The Hold Steady were formed in Brooklyn, New York in 2003, by singer, songwriter, and guitarist Craig Finn along with drummer Judd Counsell, guitarist Tad Kubler, keyboardist Franz Nicolay, and bass player Galen Polivka. Described by The Guardian newspaper as "the fiercest, funniest, druggiest, most visionary American rock band of the 21st century", The Hold Steady take front-man Craig Finn's vivid characters and meandering tales and encase them in a swamp of honest, good-time, indie rock. Inspired to form after watching a documentary on The Band, the lads' debut album Almost Killed Me (2004) slowly became a big hit with US critics and saw them named as Blender Magazine's Band of the Year in 2006. Bobby Drake Wrestling with Catholicism and quoting from writer Jack Kerouac, their next two albums, Separation Sunday (2005) and Boys and Girls in America (2006), helped build a loyal cult following. However, it was Stay Positive (2008) that made a commercial breakthrough, reaching Number 15 in the UK and Number 30 in the United States. Multi-instrumentalist Franz Nicolay left the band in 2010, but they went on to release Heaven Is Whenever (2010) and cement their reputation for bouncy melodies, driving rock and roll, and sharp, observational storytelling. They added new member Steve Selvidge. They contributed the song “Walk of Punishment” to the series Game of Thrones. Selvidge’s first LP with the band was 2014’s Teeth Dreams. They played a series of multiple night residences around the country, eventually releasing a new album, Thrashing Through the Passion in 2019. Open Door Policy followed in 2021.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Hold Steady

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.