The Highwaymen

The Highwaymen came to be the name of a country music supergroup formed by Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson in 1985. The four country music legends joined up after they performed together on one of Cash's Christmas television shows in '84. They lent their name to the title of their first album 'Highwayman'. Produced by Chips Moman it featured the four musicians as well as Marty Stuart on guitar. The release went to number one on Billboard's Top Country Albums Chart in 1985, the title track topped the Country Singles Chart and earned songwriter Jimmy Webb a Grammy Award for Best Country Song in 1986. Their follow-up single, 'Desperados Waiting for a Train', peaked at number 15. The album 'Highwayman 2' went to number four on the Country Chart in 1990 and 'The Road Goes On Forever' (1995) reached number 42. They stopped recording in 1995 and went their separate ways. 'American Outlaws: The Highwaymen Live', a four-disc collection, came out in 2016. A 1990 concert recording titled 'The Highwaymen - Live at Nassau Coliseum' is available on Blu-ray and DVD.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Highwaymen

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.