The Ebonys

Formed in Camden, New Jersey in 1968, the Ebonys were a soul vocal quartet originally comprised of Jenny Holmes, James Tuten, David Beasley, and Clarence Vaughan. The group released their debut single, “Can’t Get Enough” independently and were eventually discovered by songwriter, producer, and musician Leon Huff, one half of legendary songwriting duo Gamble and Huff. Signing to Philadelphia International Records, the Ebonys released several singles in 1971 and 1972 - including the hit “You’re the Reason Why” – before releasing their self-titled debut album in 1973. Although the single “It’s Forever” reached Number 14, the album failed to chart and the group eventually left the label. Signing with Buddha Records, the Ebonys released the album Sing About Life in 1976. The album was a commercial flop although they did have a minor hit with the non-album single “Making Love Ain’t No Fun (Without the One You Love)” before they split. The group’s music has been reissued over the years on several compilations, which inspired original member Davie Beasley to form a new version of the Ebonys. While he was originally part of the group’s new line-up, he eventually dropped out and the current version of the Ebonys features no original members.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.