The Dillinger Escape Plan

The Dillinger Escape Plan was an American metalcore band. The band was formed in 1997 in Morris Plains, New Jersey by guitarist Ben Weinman, bassist Adam Doll, vocalist Dimitri Minakakis, and drummer Chris Pennie. The band's use of dissonance, odd time signatures, polyrhythms and unconventional drum patterns became a staple of their sound, although later albums incorporated more melody, and influences from a range of genres. The band's lineup shifted numerous times throughout its existence; by the time the group dissolved, Weinman was the only remaining founding member. The last surviving lineup also included longtime members Liam Wilson on bass, Greg Puciato as lead vocalist, and Billy Rymer on the drum kit, alongside then-newcomer Kevin Antreassian as rhythm guitarist. The Dillinger Escape Plan achieved critical success, releasing six studio albums during its existence, the first being Calculating Infinity (1999), which has been noted by critics as a landmark release in hardcore punk and heavy metal music. The album has achieved a cult status selling well over 100,000 copies, which made the band the highest-selling artist on Relapse at the time. The Dillinger Escape Plan has won various nominations from award shows and publications such as the PLUG Independent Music Awards, Kerrang!, Revolver and Metal Hammer. In 2017, the band won an AIM Award for "Outstanding Contribution to Music". Prior to the release of their final album, Dissociation (2016), The Dillinger Escape Plan announced that they would be disbanding at the end of the album's touring cycle. Their final shows took place at Terminal 5 in New York City from December 27–29, 2017.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring The Dillinger Escape Plan

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.