Swedish progressive metal supergroup Soen was formed in 2004 by Opeth drummer Martin Lopez, Death, Testament and Sadus bassist Steve Di Giorgio, Willowtree singer Joel Ekelöf and guitarist Joakim Platbarzdis. Exploring the intricacies of self and society, their debut album Cognitive was released in 2012 to critical acclaim, despite it not being a commercial success, ranking only at number 32 in Finland. The group’s second album Tellurian appeared in September 2014, failing to chart, despite being a hit among metal fans who praised the group for their mature, progressive sound. Gaining traction in 2017, Lykaia charted across Europe, reaching number 18 on the Billboards Heatseekers chart in the United States, followed by Lotus which achieved similar success. It wasn’t until 2021 that Soen was able to break through the top 20 across Europe with powerful, riff-heavy album Imperial, peaking at number 16 in Germany and 9 in Switzerland. On November 18, 2022, the band released Atlantis, recorded live in a studio with an eight-piece orchestra and backing vocals, focusing predominantly on the band’s more recent material and received well among both fans and critics alike. Soen returned in September 2023 with sixth album Memorial, released via Silver Lining Music and anchored by first single "Unbreakable."

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Soen

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.