Shy Glizzy

Marquis Amonte King, known as Shy Glizzy ($hy Glizzy), is an American rapper from Southeast, Washington, D.C. His journey began in 2011 when he released his debut mixtape, No Brain, in January, followed by Streets Hottest Youngin, on October 31. In 2012, on June 6, he dropped his third mixtape, Law, receiving recognition from Complex magazine as one of the "10 New DMV Rappers To Watch Out For," following this with a string of mixtapes including Fly Money (2012), Fxck Rap (2012), Law 2 (2013), and Young Jefe (2014). The hit single "Awwsome" made its way to the US Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart, peaking at number 45, with the rapper making the 2015 XXL Freshman Class list. Showing no signs of slowing down, Shy Glizzy released his ninth mixtape, "Be Careful," with his Glizzy Gang collective, followed by For Trappers Only (2015), and Young Jefe 2 (2016) which climbed to number 14. 2017 saw the appearance of debut EP The World is Yours followed by single "Take Me Away,” from December mixtape Quiet Storm, and the rapper's career took another significant step in 2018 with the release of debut studio album, Fully Loaded, featuring notable guest appearances from YoungBoy Never Broke Again, Lil Uzi Vert, Young Thug, Gunna, and Rick Ross. The album garnered positive reviews and reached a peak position of 35 on the US Billboard 200, selling 14,446 album-equivalent units during its inaugural week. His next two mixtapes saw him remain on the Billboard charts with Covered n' Blood (2019) and Young Jefe 3 (2020) coming in at number 156 and 118 respectively, gaining even further momentum in 2020 with second EP Aloha and singles "Lonely Vibes" and "Right Or Wrong" with Lil Uzi Vert. In 2023 Shy Glizzy returned with second studio album Flowers featuring singles "Steppin On Sh!t," "Underrated", and "Fools Fall N Love" (feat. YoungBoy Never Broke Again) as well as "Slime-U-Out" (feat. 21 Savage) which climbed to number 15.

Related Artists

Stations Featuring Shy Glizzy

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.