Rocket Girls 101

Like most idol groups in the competitive East Asian music industry, the Chinese all-female pop act Rocket Girls 101 was born from a televised reality competition, in this case, Produce 101 China. Consisting of eleven performers (Meng Meiqi, Wu Xuanyi, Yang Chaoyue, Duan Aojuan, Yamy, Lai Meiyun, Zhang Zining, Sunnee, Li Ziting, Fu Jing, and Xu Mengjie) serving as trainees under different entertainment companies, the group made its debut in 2018 with the single "Rocket Girls," released via Tencent. Preceded by the Top 10 singles "Collide" and "Light," their first EP Collide arrived in 2018 and became a smashing success, selling over 2 million copies in their native China. During this time, the group won Most Popular Newcomer at the Fresh Asia Music Awards and Most Popular Group at the Global Chinese Music Awards. In 2019, their studio debut The Wind achieved sales of over 700,000 units and its lead single "Wind" peaked at Number 4 on Billboard China's Top 100 chart. Shortly after the release of their second extended-play Meeting·Goodbye in 2020, Rocket Girls 101 dissolved due to the termination of their contracts with Tencent.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.