R. City (short for Rock City; and formerly Planet VI) is a Virgin Islands musical duo formed in 2003, from Saint Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands. The duo is composed of brothers Theron "Uptown AP" Thomas and Timothy "A.I." Thomas. Primarily known as a songwriting and record production team, the duo has also released various bodies of work as recording artists, including their debut album, What Dreams Are Made Of, released in November 2015. They are best known for the single "Locked Away" featuring American singer Adam Levine. In 2007, the duo signed with American singer Akon's KonLive Distribution, under the aegis of Geffen Records. During their time there, they released a series of mixtapes with the primary title, PTFAO (Put the F*ckin' Album Out), a reference to the fact that their then-debut album Wake the Neighbors had not been given a release date. In 2011, the duo were released from their contract with KonLive and subsequently founded their own label imprint, Rebelution Records. In 2014, they signed a record deal with American music producer Dr. Luke's Kemosabe Records, under the aegis of RCA Records. The Thomas brothers have written and produced for several prominent artists in the music industry, including Sean Kingston ("Take You There"), Miley Cyrus ("We Can't Stop"), Nicki Minaj ("Only") and Rihanna ("Pour It Up"). The duo has also contributed to numerous Grammy-nominated albums, including Rihanna's Unapologetic (which won Best Urban Contemporary Album), Jennifer Hudson's self-titled album (which won Best R&B Album), and Ariana Grande's My Everything (which was nominated for Best Pop Vocal Album).

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.