Prism (styled as PRiSM) is a Canadian rock band formed in Vancouver in 1977. They were originally active from 1977 to 1984 and have been active again from 1987 to present. Their classic line-up consisted of lead singer Ron Tabak, guitarist Lindsay Mitchell, keyboardist John Hall, bassist Allen Harlow and drummer Rocket Norton. The band's sound is a mix of album-oriented rock (AOR) and pop rock and they have released a total of eight studio albums, three compilation albums and one live album. Prism's success has been primarily in Canada where they won the Canadian music industry Juno Award for 'Group of the Year' in 1981, although they also reached the US top 40 charts with 1981's "Don't Let Him Know". Prism is also noteworthy for launching the careers of several former group members, including international record producer Bruce Fairbairn, songwriter Jim Vallance, Powder Blues Band frontman Tom Lavin and Headpins and Chilliwack musician Ab Bryant. A pre-fame Bryan Adams also contributed as a songwriter to several early Prism releases. In March 2011, the band's 1977 song "Spaceship Superstar" was chosen as the wake-up song for the Space Shuttle Discovery crew members. This was a significant point in history as it was the last day that the crews of Discovery and the International Space Station were together before Discovery returned to Earth, in the last mission of Discovery.

Related Artists

Please enable Javascript to view this page competely.